Grilled Flank Steak with Ginger marinade? Yes please!!

Sometimes I like to watch cooking shows. A lot of times I feel like they are over my head but sometimes I find shows that I really feel a connection with.

Ask Aida on the cooking channel is just such a show. She features easy to cook meals that pretty much anyone can understand and cook.

So a couple months back I was watching her show and she featured a recipe for grilled flank steak. You can find the recipe HERE. Now, I’ve never had flank steak and had no idea what a flank steak even was. You might remember flank steak from  your favorite fajita recipe. That’s right! It’s the same cut of meat. Now that I’ve cooked with flank steak I am most definitely going to go looking for a fajita (pronounced fa*G*ta in my house for fun) recipe because well, the husband like fajitas so why not!? A full man is a happy man especially on good food! Besides, flank steak is pretty cheap. We picked ours up at Costco for about $10 and the nice part was it was already trimmed of extra fat and sinew (what on earth is sinew??)

flank

Mmm…looks mighty tasty…

The hardest part of this recipe was cutting up the ginger. I had no idea that ginger was hairy on the inside. Did you?? Well, you learn something new every day. The recipe says to cut the ginger thinly so I decided to try to be clever and use a vegetable peeler but as soon as I got to the middle that plan fell apart. Even using a knife I had a hard time cutting it. Perhaps I need a new set of knives? *hint hint Santa baby* I’m also not a big fan of peeling garlic either. You smash it to help peel it but then your fingers get all sticky…and blah. That just bites. One other thing I had an issue with was that I forgot to add the lime juice right away. I added it when I took it out to let it sit at room temperature for 15 minutes. My husband said he didn’t think it made much of a difference. We’ll see though because I am TOTALLY going to make this again.

The only thing I changed in this recipe was that I added Garlic Chili Paste. I put in a 1/2 teaspoon and it added a really nice zing. Now, for those of you who don’t like spicy foods (and you can put me in that camp too) it isn’t going to make you not eat it. It just adds a nice zing…that’s it. Not really any heat. One of the other nice things about this recipe is that there are people who like juicy red meat and others that like their meat well done. Well, this dish accommodates everyone. Those who like the well done bits eat the ends and those who like the juicy red bits eat the middle. Holy buckets! Everyone is happy!

The meat was so soft and flavorful!! I served it over rice and the husband went wild over this. Definitely adding this to our rotation. I give this recipe 5 wooden spoons for its ease of prep, short cooking time and mega flavor!

rsz_15spoons

Leave a Reply

