Caramel Apple Bacon Cupcakes

It’s been a really long time since I blogged. A few things have changed.

I went back to work for a while.

Son #1 graduated High School.

We bought a house.

I left my job permanently.

We moved.

Whew! It’s been a busy few months! Now I’m focusing on unpacking, homework and of course domesticated bliss!!

A few weeks ago I posted a recipe for Caramel Apple Cupcakes on the Facebook. I said something to the effect of “It doesn’t get much better than this!” but my bacon obsessed friend ,who I lovingly refer to as Smelly, stated that bacon would make it better. Our friend Soury kind of in a round about way challenged me to make these cupcakes with bacon. I took that challenge but of course it had to wait until I moved and got unpacked. So….now that I am 84.6% unpacked, at least enough to bake, I decided now was the time.

Holy Smokes Folks!!! These are tasty!!

Ya know how you have those EUREKA!! moments? I had one of those. I love those!

The one question I had was “How do I incorporate the bacon so that it doesn’t over power the rest of the flavors?” Good question right?! Soury made sea salt bacon caramels and they were really salty. I mean REALLY salty!! I was afraid that if I put the bacon on all you would be able to taste would be salty bacon. So I thought on it.

And thought on it.

And thought on it.

Then one day while I was just about to fall asleep it came to me. Candied Bacon!!! Bingo Bango Bongo!! So I looked up the recipe and it made total sense. If you bake the bacon with brown sugar and cinnamon it cuts the salt taste considerably so that it blends in to whatever you are trying to incorporate it into.

I found the recipe for candied bacon here. A word to the wise. I bought thick cut bacon because that’s normally what I purchase for things like breakfast. However, I think using regular bacon would be best for this purpose. The thick cut just didn’t crisp up like I wanted it to. So when I make this again I will be using regular cut.

I found the Caramel Apple Cupcake recipe here. This recipe is easy! SO easy!!! The hardest part of making was the prep for the apple. I hate cutting and chopping with the passion of a thousand fiery suns and that is why I was ever so glad that my friend Smelly did that part. She loves chopping and peeling. The other hard part is the waiting until they are baked so we could eat them. Of course I modified this recipe so instead of pecans, which would have been just as tasty, I used the bacon.

OMGosh!! Make these! Eat these! You are welcome!!

I give this recipe 5 out of 5 spoons. It’s so easy and fun to make and people loved them! I think I’ll have one for lunch. It’s a meal…right??!!

Leave a Reply

