Undone. The Banana Bread Song.

Sometimes I stumble upon recipes on the webbernet and think “Ooooh! That looks yummy! Must make!”  I book mark it and well, frankly I get distracted and forget about it. This recipe for Reese’s Peanut Butter Bread was SO not the case. This recipe was bookmarked and then haunted me for days until I HAD to make it. This recipe called to every ounce of my being.

When I saw the pictures on her site I couldn’t believe my eyes. I actually had to rub them to make sure I was really seeing what I thought I was seeing.

Did she really put a whole bag of miniature Reese’s peanut butter cups in peanut butter banana bread? Yep! Yes she did!

I made this recipe

TWICE

So here is the thing. The first time I made this recipe the dough was really dense. Like so dense that after it was baked you had to drink milk with it or it would get caught in your throat and then you’d do that gag thing.  Oh boy, that’s attractive!

Additionally, the bottom of my bread burned so that when I turned the pan over to get it out the top half came out but the bottom stayed in the pan! DOH!!!

Here is where I went wrong! Two things:

When I buy a bunch of bananas and they aren’t all eaten they start to go bad. I throw them in the freezer fully intending to make banana bread out of them. However, when I thaw them out to make the banana bread I think they lose some of their uh, how do I say this, volume? So the recipe says to use 3 very ripe bananas. I used three thawed bananas and I am guessing I should have used 4 or maybe 5. I think that attributed to the density issue.

As for the bread burning issue. Well there is a little disclaimer on the bottom of the recipe that says she uses a stone loaf pan and that calls for a temp of 350. I baked mine at 350 in a glass loaf pan and well, I think that’s where I went wrong. I think I should have baked it at 325.

Now, the second time I made this bread (last night) there wasn’t a density issue. I used three large very ripe not previously frozen bananas and the batter was WAY more loose than before. I was excited thinking this recipe might actually turn out this time!

HA! Just kidding.

I decided to bake it at 325 to keep it from burning. I also set the timer at 45 minutes instead of 60 (Knee jerk reaction to it burning last time) because my oven (which is the original oven that came with this house in the 1950′s) runs hot.

So I hear the timer go off

I take the bread out

I take a toothpick and stick it in

it comes out and it’s clean (Or so I thought)

I take the bread out and set it on the cooling rack to cool

I walk away

I was so excited. It was perfectly browned on top and looked good

Ten minutes later I went in to take it out of the pan and the center had fallen in.

This is how Shelly’s bread turned out. Why oh why can’t mine!?

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWAH!!!!!!

Ugh.

I just can’t win with this bread. Apparently if the middle is still very doughy the toothpick trick doesn’t work the best. Who knew??

I tried to put the bread back in the oven for 15 more minutes but that didn’t even help. After I cut it I realized the middle was still really undone. My thought was “Crap! Now what do I do??”

Well, I cut a slice this morning and threw it in the microwave for a minute (literally 60 seconds) and it baked it the rest of the way.

So the verdict is. I will make this recipe again and I will continue to do so until I have it mastered. Even tho it burned the first time and was undone last night it still tastes AMAZING! I love this recipe and so does son #1 and the husband.

I give this recipe 3 out 5 wooden spoons based sheerly on my trials and tribulations. If I can figure out how to get this bread to turn out the way it should I will change my rating.

Leave a Reply

